Menu Close

Beware Facebook Wall Messages About SinkStumble.com — AriWriter

UPDATED: January 7, 2009

If you received a message on your Facebook wall about pictures on sinkstumble.com or any of the below sites, it is a scam as I explain farther down. DO NOT VISIT THE SITES!

bakespoil.com
barkjump.com
blendgrowl.com
blinksnap.com
boaststing.com
broilwish.com
buzzpaddle.com
cackletoss.com
climbfloat.com
crawlwhip.com
cryhike.com
cutboast.com
dashpush.com
floatclick.com
frightenfrighten.com
groanhop.com
hiderush.com
laughbang.com
laughrattle.com
mixclang.com
passbump.com
poachbang.com
pretendbump.com
pretendtoss.com
ringgrowl.com
sailroast.com
screamcaw.com
screechclimb.com
spoilgiggle.com
spoilhike.com
spoilroll.com
spoilsail.com
sprayboil.com
stalkblast.com
stuffcrush.com
stuffrattle.com
swimhum.com
swimstroll.com
voteboil.com
voterub.com
wagfloat.com
waveshiver.com
wrestlegrowl.com

[Sources: assorted Yahoo Answers,  Helzerman’s Odd Bits, The Life Nomadic]

There is a new phishing scam

that is making the rounds on Facebook today.

At some point over the past 24 hours, Las Vegas resident Victoria David (which I’m guessing is a fake name, due to the husband-wife Beckham couple) registered a domain called sinkstumble.com.

Domain record for sinkstumble.comIf you visit the site, a series of windows pop open (that my ad blocker did not detect), warning you about pictures, IP addresses, and asking you to type some data.

Do not type anything!

I don’t know how it started, but in my own case, a high school classmate wrote the following message on my Facebook wall:

I don’t know if you know but your pictures are on sinkstumble com

It’s not a website link, so any victims are manually typing (or copying and pasting) that address into their browser location bar. If you do so, and follow the instructions, you will be typing in the name of the friend who sent you to the site, then your name and email address. Then… the phishing takes over and sends the same message to every friend of yours, writing on their walls what “my friend” wrote on mine.

Get it?

I initially visited the site from my primary browser, and was forced to shut down the browser. I then tried from a different browser of mine with more rigid security settings, using fictitious names and email addresses. At that point, there is a friendly reminder not to click random links. But to get to that point, you’re spamming your friends.

Don’t go there. Hopefully, the site will be shut down in the next day or two…

If you enjoyed this post, please consider

leaving a comment

or following future articles by

RSS subscription

or

email delivery

. Before you forget, please

add your favorite blog

!

Related posts:

  1. SCAM ALERT: Beware LinkedIn Inbox Messages Asking You to Download Setup.exe
  2. Teachers Beware: Facebook May Cause Firing
  3. Will You Miss My Facebook Friendship?